Absence of wishes

There,

across the night,

a ghost pink stain.

The stars have fled

in fear or shame.

And in this crowded emptiness

we share our vacant loneliness

at a distance.

Smoke our pipes,

raise our glasses,

fill the bars,

fill the churches,

waste our lives

in ever dwindling boxes,

till the dirt falls in.

About shannadodd

I'm a writer and a collector of words. I also tend to collect homeless critters. Currently, in addition to blogs, poems and books, I'm writing my second novel and beginning a graphic design business. When I'm not writing, I'm reading or cleaning or feeding someone. I hope you enjoy my poetry. I try, with my poems, to create pictures with words. I consider it art but not with my chin thrust out or my nose pointing skyward, it's art in the sense that like the painter or photographer I want to capture a moment or event or question. If I do that for you, I've succeeded. Thank you for reading and for your comments. It's means so much to me that folks are reading my poems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Absence of wishes

  1. Jingle says:

    divine imagery, thanks for sharing..

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 41(April 7-13, 2011) | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

  3. Mab Jones says:

    I love how you’ve used rhythm and half-rhyme to lead the poem to its own inevitable conclusion of inevitability. A fine, if dark, piece! 🙂

  4. lucychili says:

    i like the crowded emptiness and the dwindling boxes

Leave a Reply

