The Storm

The line of light breaks

‘tween the banks of burdened blue.

The break widens

as the tide of prescience

gathers.

Fibrous and cottony.

Strident singing, screeching, ringing through

the feathered ocean’s greens.

Heat ripens.

Thick

bright red globules

hang.

Decadent and vulgar.

The sickeningly sweet heat gives way

to a weighted stillness.

The twilight tints the air

a fired fuchsia.

There is a coolness wrapped ‘round

each breath of air.

And the trees seem somehow

uprooted,

pagan things in bas-relief.

An angry mob of blackened clouds

rushes roiling pell mell,

gobbling up

the bruised sky,

throwing jagged, glowing spears of crackling

 

Fire.

BOOM!

The sky is ripped apart,

slammed down in fury.

CRACK!

The spear tears the earth apart.

Sheets of liquid steel

fall.

Petaled flowers beaten

down.

Trees scream and twist in

torment.

 

Silence.

Sudden.

Alien.

 

A roaring, reckoning implosion

so LOUD!

the world vibrates on its axis.

Darkness,

substantive and primeval,

brutally crashing down

RIPPING,

MAULING,

CRACKING,

GLASS SHATTERING,

SCREAMING,

GRIPPING

decimation.

 

Stillness,

abrupt, a quickening.

We stumble through the wreckage,

stunned,

awestruck,

grieving,

…grateful.

About shannadodd

I'm a writer and a collector of words. I also tend to collect homeless critters. Currently, in addition to blogs, poems and books, I'm writing my second novel and beginning a graphic design business. When I'm not writing, I'm reading or cleaning or feeding someone. I hope you enjoy my poetry. I try, with my poems, to create pictures with words. I consider it art but not with my chin thrust out or my nose pointing skyward, it's art in the sense that like the painter or photographer I want to capture a moment or event or question. If I do that for you, I've succeeded. Thank you for reading and for your comments. It's means so much to me that folks are reading my poems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Storm

  1. vivid imagery of the storm….

    love the word flow.

    welcome back to poets rally today.

Leave a Reply

