in the end

And there was

in the end

a shallowness

tingling

in the house

that was a home

 

there was

in the end

an emptying

memories

defaulted, burned

a waste

 

there was

in the end

a fragility

a sheerness

of skin

of aged paper

 

there was

in the end

an absence

a bitterness

alone

strangers

 

in the house

that was a home

About shannadodd

I'm a writer and a collector of words. I also tend to collect homeless critters. Currently, in addition to blogs, poems and books, I'm writing my second novel and beginning a graphic design business. When I'm not writing, I'm reading or cleaning or feeding someone. I hope you enjoy my poetry. I try, with my poems, to create pictures with words. I consider it art but not with my chin thrust out or my nose pointing skyward, it's art in the sense that like the painter or photographer I want to capture a moment or event or question. If I do that for you, I've succeeded. Thank you for reading and for your comments. It's means so much to me that folks are reading my poems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to in the end

  1. cinnamon blues says:

    An effective poem that lingers. I also liked the structure.

  2. Moody and real. I could feel the empty stares and downcast eyes. Nice writing!

  3. Adam says:

    A very thought provoking poem. I imagined someone reflecting on their life and realising that at the end peace, calm and acceptance prevail.

    A great poem, thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Jingle says:

    incredible imagery, thanks for sharing.

  5. A great poem. How often homes become houses instead of the other way around. Excellent poem.

  6. belladonna23 says:

    Mmm 😦 I understand the beauty and the sadness this poem bares

  7. Mike says:

    A great read – thanks.
    I thought the structure worked really effectively.
    Great imagery.

  8. Francois says:

    I know that there are lots of people who can identify with this poem. I like the simplicity and feelings that you so easily express!

  9. Well written! You’ve created a cold, lingering mood with this poem and the message is very clear. Well done!

  10. elizakeller says:

    I like how your stucture gives the mood of this poem almost before the words do.

  11. swanrose says:

    I really like the vibe this puts off. Nice job creating it’s feel.

  12. amazing…

    Poetry Picnic Week 3 is open for submission until Thursday, 1 to 3 random poems are welcome…

    Welcome in, free and fun…

    Glad to discover your poetry talent, hope to see you share.
    Bless your Tuesday.
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

