The Object

The object
blank, waiting
an inanimatency
alive in its constancy
A sorrowful joy
Little birth
bloody and raw and loud
Little death
somber and clean and,
quite suddenly, quiet
sparkling with disuse
cluttered with frustration
A kaleidoscopic soul
turning ever inward
spiraling out
in sublime exposure

About shannadodd

I'm a writer and a collector of words. I also tend to collect homeless critters. Currently, in addition to blogs, poems and books, I'm writing my second novel and beginning a graphic design business. When I'm not writing, I'm reading or cleaning or feeding someone. I hope you enjoy my poetry. I try, with my poems, to create pictures with words. I consider it art but not with my chin thrust out or my nose pointing skyward, it's art in the sense that like the painter or photographer I want to capture a moment or event or question. If I do that for you, I've succeeded. Thank you for reading and for your comments. It's means so much to me that folks are reading my poems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Object

  1. Yes this can happen with our soul as it turns inward this is a wonderful closing on this poem so well done
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/19/my-world/

  2. Morning says:

    love it.

    fun word flow…
    😉

  3. Shanna: I’m going to tell you straight: I read this five or six times, and though I find it beautiful, I’m struggling to see what it is you are describing. I hope I don’t offend you by saying so! I seldom check the follow up comments box, but I’m going to on this one, in hopes you will tell me more about this poem.
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/fragile-cloth-2/

    • shannadodd says:

      It’s a poem about the writing experience. The blank computer screen or blank page. The introspection of the writer. I can go line by line if you’d like. I prefer to think of poetry and all literature as a fluid art form. What’s it means for the writer is not necessarily what it means for the reader. I don’t believe in absolutes especially in poetry because it defeats the whole purpose. In the majority of my poems I try to visualize the emotion or state of being and describe that visualization. I am honored that you chose to read the poem and express such interest. I hope that you will see some thing in yourself in the poem so that it has a unique meaning for you. Thank you.

      • DOH! Makes perfect sense now that you explain it. Forgive me for having a dense moment! It’s even better now that my eyes are open! Nice one!
        Thanks for answering my question.

Leave a Reply

